Home  Your Government  Planning and Zoning  Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Board of Appeals

A five member board, with up to two alternates. A representative of the Township Planning Commission is the first member of ZBA; all others are appointed by the Township Board. The ZBA meets regularly six times per year in order to hear appeals from residents. Most often such appeals are requests for dimensional variance, but may include appeal of a decision by the Zoning Administrator. In addition, the ZBA may interpret the location of zoning district boundaries, and clarify the provisions of a particular ordinance. A vote by the majority of ZBA members is required in deciding all appeals and interpretations.   

Kim Kihnke, Chair
1763 Nash Rd.
Brutus, MI 49716
231-529-7728
kim@harborsir.com

Harold Koviak
4271 East Burt Lake Road
Cheboygan, MIchigan 49721
231-238 9962
hkoviak@boyne.com

Chris Kindsvatter
460 Deerfield Lane
Indian River, Michigan 49749
517-202-9926
chris@kindsvatterassociates.com

Dennis Reimann
4751 Crump Rd
Cheboygan, Michigan 49721
231-238-6925
dennis_reimann@yahoo.com

Zoning Administrator
Jim Larson
4099 E. Burt Lake Rd.
Cheboygan, Michigan 49721
231-238-8667
jlarson@burttownship.org

David Hutto
10634 Chickagami Trail
Brutus, Michigan 49716
231-529-1529
Dave.Hutto@gmail.com

Recording Secretary

Donna McDougall (Clerk)

dmcdougall@burttownship.org